v10.50 v10.55 Alpha v10.54 Alpha v10.53 Alpha v10.52 Alpha v10.51 Alpha
v10.50 v10.55 Alpha v10.54 Alpha v10.53 Alpha v10.52 Alpha v10.51 Alpha

General Display Options

You specify the main Trace View information types and settings using General Display Options:

  • Zoom Level: Zooms out from 100% (default) to 10% or zooms in from 100% to 200%.

  • Enable Tips: Pops up text when you position the cursor over a field.

  • Wrap: Wraps lines of traffic information instead of truncating lines at the right edge of the display.

  • Hierarchy Lines: Displays lines on the left side of Trace View showing the hierarchy from Packets to Transactions to Split Transactions to Transfers if you show higher-level decodes.

  • Timestamp Position: Aligns the Timestamp field At the beginning (in a column on the left side of the Trace View), At the end (in a column on the left side of the Trace View), or Merge with Packet/Transaction/Translation. Selecting this option allows easier comparison with previous or following timestamps.

  • Default when Loading Trace File: The following three features are applied only when a trace file is loaded. It does not do anything to a trace that is already open in the application. You MUST hit the "Save as Default" button at the bottom of the Display Options dialog to make this selection persistent, so that it will apply it to all subsequently loaded trace files.

    • Expand Packet Data: Displays packet data fields in expanded mode. If this option is not selected, packet data fields display in collapsed mode, and you can expand them manually.

    • Expand Script Decodes: Displays decoded transfer fields in expanded mode. If this option is not selected, decoded transfer fields display in col- lapsed mode, and you can expand them manually.

    • Std Reqs & Descriptors Scripts: Use dynamically loaded .DEC files (rather than .REQ and .DSC files) for decoding Class and Vendor requests or end- points.

  • Process USB3 LTSSM: Enables the software processing needed for the LTSSM views. Disable if you do not need link state information.

  • Stacking View: See Stacking.

  • Default Bulk/Int Xfer type to Bulk on: Select FS and/or HS. In most cases, the USB Protocol Suite can determine whether an endpoint is an Interrupt or Bulk endpoint and apply the proper decoding. However, in some cases, the USB Protocol Suite cannot distinguish traffic from these two Transfer Types and defaults to Interrupt endpoint. For FS and/or HS, you can set the software to default to Bulk endpoint, typically when you know that captured traffic is Bulk, not Interrupt.

NOTE: To change the Transfer Type in Trace view, right-click the INT or BULK field and select the appropriate option.

  • Hide USB Protocol: Use USB 2.0, USB 3.2 or Power Delivery.

  • Collapsing Data Fields

    • BYTEs in collapsed data-field: Enter the number of bytes (0 to 4096) to display in a collapsed data field. In this example, the value entered is eight. The collapsed field displays the first eight bytes even though the field contains 64 bytes .

      att_3_for_337020574.png
      First 8 Bytes Displayed in a Field with 64 Bytes
    • BYTEs in expanded data-field: Enter the number of bytes (1 to 4096) to display in an expanded data field. In this example, the value entered is 32. The collapsed field displays the first thirty two bytes even though the field contains 64 bytes.

att_4_for_337020574.png
First 32 Bytes Displayed in a Field with 64 Bytes
  • Protocol Level to View: Displays Packet, Transaction, Split Transaction, PTP/ MTP Transaction, PTP/MTP Object, PTP/MTP Session, SCSI Operation, PTP Group and OBEX Operation.

  • Trace View Mode: Displays Normal CATC Trace View, Compressed CATC View, Spreadsheet View (Color), and Spreadsheet View (B/W).

  • Fonts: Sets the font type and bold or italic style for Fields and Data.

  • Configuration Name: You can name the current set of Display Options values for use with an .opt file. (The options file can have a different name.)

  • Restore Factory Settings: Sets all Display Options values to the installed values. This does NOT change the default settings that are loaded when the application starts. If you want the Factory Settings to be your default, you must Save As Default after Restoring the Factory Settings.

Saving Display Options

You can save a set of Display Options values, make a set the default settings, or use a saved set of values with the commands at the bottom of the Display Options window:

  • To save the current Display Options values in an options file for use in future sessions, click Save. Enter a file name without a file name extension. The program adds the .opt extension. (The file must have an .opt file name extension.)

  • To load a previously saved .opt file, click Load and select a file name.

  • To save the current Display Options values in the default.opt options file for use as the default display options, click Save as Default. (Do not delete the default.opt file.)

  • To load the Default values, click Load Defaults. When you start the application, this is the setting that is invoked automatically.

  • To apply the current Display Options values, click Apply. The Display Options window remains open.

  • To apply the current Display Options values and close the Display Options window, click OK.

  • To cancel unsaved changes to display values and exit the Display Options window, click Cancel.

Restore Factory Settings

Resets all Display Options values to the installed values. This does NOT change the default settings that are loaded when the application starts. If you want the factory settings to be your default, you must Save As Default after restoring these settings.