v10.50 v10.55 Alpha v10.54 Alpha v10.53 Alpha v10.52 Alpha v10.51 Alpha
v10.50 v10.55 Alpha v10.54 Alpha v10.53 Alpha v10.52 Alpha v10.51 Alpha

Trace File Structure

Captured trace files are saved in .usb format. When a trace file is loaded, additional decoding and data reduction is done that results in additional data files that are placed in a folder of the same name as the trace file (as .tmp files). This allows the trace file to be loaded and displayed quickly during subsequent viewings.

When copying a trace file, or sending it to someone, you can chose to send just the .usb file. In that case, the software re-generates the additional folder and files when the trace is first opened. The other choice is to send the additional folder with contents along with the .usb file, which will save the rebuilding effort when the file is opened again. The choice is up to the user. If you do NOT want save these files, and do not mind the extra time it takes to rebuild these every time you load a trace file, you can select this in the Recording Options.

If the additional files ever become out of date (newer software structures from a new release, etc.) or if any of the files are lost or damaged, the software will rebuild a fresh version of the information.

To save memory space, the maximum number of traces that can be opened at one time when recording is from 1 to 10. You can also auto-delete traces if your recording session goes beyond the limit set (from 1 to 10).